Poetry by Kenneth Radu

Heritage

The wind blows the moon

out of the sky,

clouds bank against the stars

and there is no light tonight.

.

Hunger is insatiable;

the first movement is my eye

then the slow crawl of fingers

across my chest where a dead

heart still beats.

.

Scholars seek historical

equivalence, Vlad the Impaler,

like scientists explaining myth.

I am pre-existent, made manifest

in dreams and icons of deepest

despair and the psyche’s unlit

corners, cobwebbed and shrouded

like the sky tonight.

.
What good a cross without belief

against my incisive teeth,

what good garlic in the window

when they invite me over

thresholds into their sleep?

.

Down the road from the castle wall

which I climb with cat-like

efficiency, a man left his wife

for another land to break new

ground. He still carries me

the way she caries his unborn

child, and she is alone tonight.

Leave a Reply

