Poetry by Corey Mesler

Mortmain

The often stifling influence of the past.

The way you stood at the door,

your shadow a tear in time/space.

If I remember brown I remember you.

The way your hair fell over your eye.

The time you took me into the bath.

How you touched me. How you touched me.

The often stifling influence of the past.

How when it goes it doesn’t stay gone.

How when it’s gone it continues to go.

The sleep I’ve lost. The time I’ve spent.

If I remember black I remember your eyes.

The way the bed shook with our thrashing.

The way the thrashing led to nothing.

The way feeling died along the way.

The often stifling influence of the goddamn past.

One response to “Poetry by Corey Mesler

  1. This guy is just the best. Period.

Leave a Reply

