Poetry by Luis Cuauhtemoc Berriozabal

The One That Looked Like Me

 

That was not me

yelling.  It was

a woman who

looked like me.  She

had my hair.  But

she was not as

fair looking as

me.  She was the

one who was in

my room yelling.

I don’t know why

the nurses and

doctors claim I

was the one that

was screaming.  It

was her, the one

that looked like me.

Her name was like

mine.  I can see

why there might have

been confusion.

I want to get

out of this place.

I could live in

my car.  I don’t

want to lose my

license.  Who says

I am crazy?

I only get

depressed at times.

I don’t know what

else I could do.

I cry a lot

because I am

not able to

cope with all that

is wrong with me.

I take pills for

my sadness.  I

don’t think the new

doctor knows which

are the pills that

work for me best.

I could just scream

and yell all day

just like the one

that looks like me.

 

 

Luis Cuauhtemoc Berriozabal lives in California.

2 responses to “Poetry by Luis Cuauhtemoc Berriozabal

  1. Kumusha KuZimbabwe

    Clever piece; the more the speaker seeks to deny it was she, the more obvious it becomes that she was the one. What made you write this
    piece?

  2. Kumusha, thank you for leaving a comment.
    The poem was influenced by a patient, well
    several patients, I have interviewed. I work
    in the mental health field & I hear some sad
    and strange stories at times.

Leave a Reply

